http://www.kidspot.com.au/schoolzone/Friendships-Teaching-your-child-resilience+3994+394+article.htm

A couple of days ago, my little boy, Phoenix, came home from school with a piece of homework, which was to write a paragraph about what he had learned from his participation in a school project.

There were a couple of examples of what he should write – resilience was Groupofkidsonlawn476x290one of them.

Fantastic, I thought! This absolutely ties in with my research recently on what makes children successful.

So, I asked him : “Phoenix, what does resilience mean?”

“I don’t know,” came the answer.

Oh!

So, rather than tell him the dictionary definition, which would probably go in one ear and out the other, I thought it best that I lead by example.

I found a lovely few words on ‘teaching your child resilience‘, which I thought might be interesting reading for all us parents and teachers out there.

Here’s a summary :

1. Listen with your heart;

2. See the world through your child’s eyes;

3. Accept [your]children for who they are;

4. Develop strengths;

5. Teach that mistakes are an opportunity to learn;

6. Promote responsibility by giving responsibility;

7. Teach your children to make their own decisions;

8. Discipline, but don’t denigrate.

This is just a rough guide but I think there’s some good stuff here ….. well worth checking out!

